County Court at Law # 1, Judge Corinne Mason
County Court at Law # 2, Judge Barnett Walker
County Court at Law # 3, Judge Lance 5. Baxter
County Court at Law # 4, Judge David Rippel

County Court at Law # 5, Judge Randy Johnson
County Court at Law # 6, Judge Jay A. Bender
County Court at Law # 7, Judge David Waddill

CoOLLIN COUNTY TEXAS, COUNTY COURT AT LAW’S
CRIMINAL MISDEMEANOR FEE SCHEDULE
(AS AMENDED MARCH 5, 2025)

(All Amendments to the Fee Schedule are effective immediately and apply to all outstanding and future claims)

The County Court at Law Judges of Collin County, Texas hereby adopt the following Fee
Schedule for the appointment of attorneys in misdemeanor criminal cases.
1. Hourly Rate
e The $100.00 per hour option is no longer available.
2. Plea Agreements
o« DWI Pleas: $750.00
¢ Non-DWI Pleas: $650.00
o Additional $100.00 for each additional case pled with the same offense date.
3. Expunctions
+ As mandated by the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure: $250.00
4. Motions
« Motion to Adjudicate & Motion to Revoke: Compensated at the original plea rate
(refer to Section 2).
e Motion to Withdraw: $250.00
o Motion to Suppress: Included within the representation; no additional fee allotted.
e Motion to Substitute Counsel: Compensation at the Judge’s discretion, not to exceed
the flat rate (refer to Section 2).
o Motions involving violations of bond/bond modifications for filed cases are
considered part of representation. No separate fee is paid.
5. Trials and Appeals
e Jury Trial: $2,500.00 for any case, including a motion for new trial.
o Trial Before the Court: $1,250.00 for any case.
e Appeal: $2,500.00 for the appeal of any case, including a motion for rehearing.
o Dismissal or Plea at the Time of Trial: $1,000.00 (not at the arraignment)
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6. Mental Health Misdemeanor Cases (MHMC)
*  MHMC Case Pleas: Compensated at the flat rate for DWI or Non-DWI pleas (refer to
Section 2).
e Competency Hearing: $250.00
« MH Bond Hearing: $100.00
7. Discretionary Fees:
» Attorneys may request an additional discretionary fee up to $1,250.00 when casework
exceeds the scheduled compensation at the discretion of the Judge.
¢ Request must include:
o A justification statement explaining the additional work performed.

o Itemized time records (excluding confidential or privileged information).

e Qualifying factors include but are not limited to:
o Cases involving mental illness or intellectual disability
o Speedy trial motions.
o Expunctions.
o  Writs of habeas corpus.
e Judicial Discretion for Extraordinary Circumstances
© Any judge, in his or her discretion, may authorize additional compensation when
deemed proper and necessary due to extraordinary circumstances.
o In such cases, the attorney must approach the court directly and provide sufficient
documentation to support the request.
o Blanket motions will not be considered sufficient.
8. Billing Procedures
¢ General Billing:
o Pay sheets must be submitted to the court having jurisdiction within 30 days of
case disposition.
o Pay sheets for matters disposed of before they are assigned to a County Court at

Law are to be submitted to the Magistrate Court.
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County Court at Law # 5, Judge Randy Johnson
County Court at Law # 6, Judge Jay A. Bender
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¢ Pretrial Diversion (PTD):

o Payment is remitted upon placement in PTD. If the PTD ends unsuccessfully, it

will be considered a new appointment.
e Unapprehended Defendants:

o If a warrant has been issued and the defendant remains unapprehended for six
months or more, attorneys may file a motion to withdraw and submit a pay sheet
for $250.00.

o If the defendant is rearrested, the same attorney will be reappointed if the
defendant qualifies and the attorney remains on the appointment wheel.

9. Billing for Experts
o Private Investigators & Testifying Experts:

o Invoices must be submitted via the pay portal.

o The attorney must complete the pay sheet, mark "Pay to Expert," attach the
invoice, and include any related court orders.

o The attorney must sign the pay sheet to verify services were provided.

¢ Other Experts (Non-Testifying, Consultants, Interpreters, Reporters, Immigration
Attorneys, Competency Experts):

o Invoices must be submitted to the court coordinator for payment by check.

o The attorney must sign the invoice to indicate approval and verification of
services rendered.

All invoices, regardless of submission method, must be signed by the attorney to confirm

approval and verification of work completion.
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Honorable David Waddill

County Court at Law #7
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